In Light of News that the NRA was a “Russian Foreign Asset” in 2016 Elections, FDP Calls on Trump and FL Republicans to Donate NRA Money to Charity

President Trump and Florida Republicans must return the money or be seen as complicit in supporting Russian agents interfering with US Democratic elections.

Tallahassee, Fl. –– In a detailed report presented by Senator Ron Wyden and the Senate Finance Committee, the National Rifle Association acted as a foreign asset of Russia during the 2016 election.
In light of this information, the Florida Democratic Party calls on President Donald Trump and Florida’s elected officials to give all donations connected to the NRA to charity.
Terrie Rizzo, chair of the Florida Democratic Party, released the following statement:
FDP Chair Terrie Rizzo
“The NRA has stood for the corrupted interests of the weapons industry for some time, but now the organization is serving as a foreign asset to Russians who want to interfere in our free and open elections. If the President and Florida Republicans do not want to be seen as complicit in attempts by the Russian government to destroy our democracy they have a duty to return or donate the money and remove the NRA’s tainted influence from our government.”
Here is a list of current and former elected officials that received NRA funds in the 2016, 2018, and 2020 election cycles. Data from Open Secrets:
President Donald Trump: $16,800
Rep. Gus Bilirakis: $1,000
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart: $3,000 (gave back $1,000 in 2020 cycle)
Rep. Neal Dunn: $3,000
Rep. Greg Steube: $3,000
Rep. Matt Gaetz: $2,500
Rep. Mike Miller: $2,000
Rep. Tom Rooney: $1,000
Rep. Ross Spano: $1,000
Rep. Ted Yoho: $1,000
Please note Rep. Brian Mast, and Rep. Michael Waltz each received $1,000 in 2018 and both gave back $1,000 in the 2020 cycle.
Rep. Brian Mast: $4,950
Rep. John Mica: $4,000 (Returned $2,000 in 2018)
Rep. Carlos Curbelo: $2,500
Rep. Jeff Miller: $2,500
Rep. Gus Bilirakis: $2,000
Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart: $2,000
Rep. Bill Posey: $2,000
Rep. Dennis Ross,: $2,000
Rep. Neal Dunn: $1,750
Former Gov. Jeb Bush: $1,000
Rep. Ander Crenshaw: $1,000
Then Rep. Ron DeSantis: $1,000
Rep. Matt Gaetz:  $1,000
Rep. Tom Rooney: $1,000
Rep. John Rutherford: $1,000
Rep. Ted Yoho: $1,000
Note: Marco Rubio received $9,900 in 2016 and returned $9,900 in 2018. Rep. Daniel Webster and Rep. Francis Rooney each received $1,000 in 2016 and returned it in 2018.
A note on Open Secrets numbers: “The organization itself did not donate, rather the money came from the organization’s PACs, their individual members or employees or owners, and those individuals’ immediate family members. Organizations themselves cannot contribute to candidates and party committees. Totals include subsidiaries and affiliates.”